Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy 2019

The 47th Willie Clancy Summer School, Miltown Malbay, Co. Clare, Ireland. Saturday 6th July to Sunday 14th July, 2019.

Sráid na Cathrach, Co. an Chláir  6ú Iúil - 14ú Iúil.

 A first class traditional music concert brought a packed audience to

the Ennis Glór Theatre on Saturday 14th October to honour Geraldine

Cotter, the 2017 recipient of the MÓR Glór Award.


This prestigious Award,  named after Muiris Ó Rócháin,  one of the key founders

and long time Director of Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy,  is sponsored by Glór and

awarded annually to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to Irish

traditional music. Geraldine Cotter comes from  a high profile musical family.

Her mother taught piano in Ennis for many years and her brother Eamon is a

well known flute player and manufacturer. Her husband John and children

Meadhbh, Cillian and Oisín are fine musicians, as are all her extended family.

She has produced  over twenty albums as a recording artist,  is an accomplished piano accompanist and whistle soloist, and a member of the Boruma Trio and Shaskeen Céilí Band.


Geraldine Cotter is a lecturer in traditional music at Mary Immaculate College, Limerick, and performs and teaches at many summer schools, including Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy where she has taught whistle for many years and is part of the tutorial team that coordinates the primary teachers courses at the summer school.   A researcher and collector, she has published extensively and her publications include Transforming Tradition: Irish Traditional Music in Ennis (1950-1980), the subject of her Ph.D thesis at UL.


The Award was  presented on the night by Úna Uí Rócháin and the line up of performers included The Boruma Trio (Andrew MacNamara, Eileen O’Brien, Geraldine Cotter, with guest artist Mary MacNamara); Denis Liddy, Jack Talty, Neil O’Loughlin  Damien and Padraic O’Reilly; The Cotter Family; Maeve Donnelly, Charlie Harris, Mairead Casey, The Performing Landscapes Ensemble (Geraldine Cotter, Tim Collins, Eimear and Sharon Howley, Anthony Quigley, Eimear Coughlan, Francis Cunningham and Brian O’Grady) ; Bríd O’Donohue, Cillian Boyd, Jack Talty and the Shaskeen Céilí Band.

Dr Geraldine Cotter receives MÓR  Glór 2017  Award

© Scoil Samhraidh Willie Clancy 2018   Website: Tony Kearns